Gov.-Elect Pritzker Announces Healthy Children and Families Committee

Thursday, November 15, 2018


Chicago, IL — Today, Governor-elect JB Pritzker announced the formation and members of the Healthy Children and Families Committee of the transition team at Children’s Home and Aid, the first social service agency JB visited while considering his run for governor.

The committee is the third of several working groups of the transition made up of subject-matter experts who will advise and guide the incoming Pritzker-Stratton administration. The Healthy Children and Families Committee will be chaired by state Sen. Heather Steans, Howard Brown Health President and CEO David Munar, and Children’s Home and Aid President and CEO Nancy Ronquillo and consist of 46 members.

“Our transition’s Healthy Children and Families Committee will focus on how we should rebuild social services, identify ways we can help children and families build better lives, and expand health care in this state,” said Governor-elect JB Pritzker. “Over the last few years, state funding for community organizations was cut and families were no longer receiving the services they needed to thrive, but we’re going to reverse course. As governor, I’ll be their partner, and together, we’ll confront challenges head on so families and children can thrive.”



State Senator Heather Steans co-chairs the transition’s Healthy Children and Families Committee and has represented the 7th district in the Senate since 2008. Steans chairs the Appropriations I Committee and the Special Committee on Oversight of Medicaid Managed Care, vice chairs the Appropriations II Committee and serves on the Executive, Environment and Conservation, Government Reform and Human Services committees. She has passed legislation to bring marriage equality to Illinois, reform the state’s Medicaid program, enact significant nursing home reform and improve the environment by reducing mercury waste, creating commercial composting capabilities and banning microbeads. She also passed the Equal Rights Amendment in 2018, making Illinois the 37th state to ratify it and secured the passage of legislation that ensures Illinois remains a state where women can safely and legally exercise their right to choose.

David Munar co-chairs the transition’s Healthy Children and Families Committee and has served as president and CEO of Howard Brown Health since 2014. Munar has focused on ensuring the delivery of excellent patient services, strengthening finances and operations, and positioning the Midwest’s largest LGBTQ organization for long-term sustainability and growth. Prior to Howard Brown, Munar honed his career at the AIDS Foundation of Chicago where he held several positions, including president and CEO. He serves on the boards of the Cook County Health and Hospital System, the Illinois Primary Health Care Association, AllianceChicago, AIDS United, and the Black AIDS Institute. In 2007, he helped launch a national coalition that led to the National HIV/AIDS Strategy unveiled by President Obama in July 2010.

Nancy Ronquillo co-chairs the transition’s Healthy Children and Families Committee and has served as president and CEO of Children’s Home & Aid since 2001. Ronquillo has been a leader in the human services field for over four decades. She has served as the founding chair of Children’s Home Society of America and Illinois Partners for Human Service, an 800+ member statewide advocacy organization. Ronquillo was named American Business Woman of the Year and received the Woman of Distinction Award. She serves on both national and local boards, including the Children’s Home Society of America and National Veterans Arts Museum (NVAM).  Ronquillo serves on the local boards of Chicago Thrive Leadership Council, Chicago Alliance for Collaborative Effort, Axelson Center for Nonprofit Management and Advisory Board and the Chicago Horse Center. She is a member of the Economic Club of Chicago.

Laura Anderson, CEO, Winning Systems

Lisa Morrison Butler, Commissioner, Chicago Department of Family and Support Services

Pat Comstock, Executive Director, The Health Care Council of Illinois

Deb Conroy, State Representative, Illinois General Assembly

Esther Corpuz, CEO, Alivio Medical Center

Chris Cox, Executive Director, Hoyleton Youth and Family Services

Ryan Croke, Executive Director, Illinois Centers for Independent Living

Risa Davis, Consultant, Human Services & Philanthropy

Andrea Durbin, President, Illinois Collaboration on Youth

Theresa Eagleson, Executive Director, University of Illinois, Office of Medicaid Innovation

Phil Eaton, President and Chief Executive Officer, Rosecrance

Doug Elwell, Deputy CEO for Finance and Strategy, Cook County Health

Josh Evans, President and CEO, Illinois Association of Rehabilitation Centers

Sara Feigenholtz, State Representative, Illinois General Assembly

Karen Foley, CEO, Juvenile Protective Association

Andrés Gallegos, Attorney, Robbins, Salomon & Patt Ltd.

Raul Garza, President and Chief Executive Officer, Aunt Martha’s Health & Wellness

Michael Gelder, Adjunct Lecturer of Preventive Medicine, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

Danielle Gomez, Supervising Attorney, Office of the Cook County Public Guardian

Nina Harris, CEO, Springfield Urban League

Grace B. Hou, President, Woods Fund Chicago

Sara Howe, CEO, Illinois Association for Behavioral Health

Tom Hughes, President, Illinois Public Health Association

Mattie Hunter, State Senator, Illinois General Assembly

Mark Ishaug, CEO, Thresholds

Dr. Lorrie Rickman-Jones, Vice President of Strategic Innovation and Behavioral Health, NextLevel Health

Greg Kelley, President, SEIU Healthcare Illinois, Indiana, Missouri, and Kansas

Dan Kotowski, President and CEO, ChildServ

Camille Lilly, State Representative, Illinois General Assembly

Juan Carlos Linares, Executive Director, LUCHA

Dan Lustig, Executive Director, Haymarket Center

Roberta Lynch, Executive Director, AFSCME Council 31

Jamal Malone, CEO, Ada S. McKinley Community Services, Inc.

Larry McCulley, CEO, Southern Illinois Healthcare Foundation

Dr. Steven B. Nasatir, President, Jewish United Fund of Metropolitan Chicago

John Peller, President and CEO, AIDS Foundation of Chicago

Garth Reynolds, Executive Director, Illinois Pharmacists Association

José R. Sánchez, President & CEO, Norwegian American Hospital

Doug Schenkelberg, Executive Director, Chicago Coalition for the Homeless

Mark A. Stutrud, President and CEO, Lutheran Social Services of Illinois

Jennifer Welch, President and CEO, Planned Parenthood of Illinois

Dr. Carl White, Apostle, Southland Ministerial Health Network

AJ Wilhelmi, President and CEO, Illinois Health and Hospital Association


Ready to take action?

Sign up and we’ll be in touch with opportunities to get involved with our team.

Back to Top