Gov.-Elect Pritzker, Lt. Gov.-Elect Stratton Announce Powering Illinois’ Future Committee

Monday, November 26, 2018


Chicago, IL — Today, Governor-elect JB Pritzker and Lieutenant Governor-elect Juliana Stratton announced the formation and members of the transition’s Powering Illinois’ Future Committee.

The committee is the sixth of several working groups of the transition made up of subject-matter experts who will advise and guide the incoming Pritzker-Stratton administration. The Powering Illinois’ Future Committee will be chaired by Illinois Environmental Council Executive Director Jennifer Walling, Exelon Utilities CEO Anne Pramaggiore, and IBEW Local 51 Business Manager John Johnson and consist of 35 members.

“Investing in infrastructure will be a top priority in our administration,” said Lieutenant Governor-elect Juliana Stratton. “We must identify opportunities to invest in a clean energy economy, and this committee will bring both advocacy and industry stakeholders together to put our state on a path toward mutually agreed upon projects that move us toward a clean energy economy.”

“IEC and our advocacy partners know our environment will be protected under the incoming Pritzker-Stratton administration, and we’re excited to work on this committee to make investing in clean water infrastructure and expanding energy efficiency efforts a top priority in Illinois,” said Illinois Environmental Council Executive Director Jennifer Walling. 

“Under Governor-elect Pritzker’s vision, Illinois is poised to assume a leadership role in our country’s clean energy future. Making this transformation in our energy sector is critical to our economy and to quality of life in our state. I am enthusiastic about the ability of the diverse group of stakeholders convened by our new Governor to generate ideas that add real value to Illinois,”said Exelon Utilities CEO Anne Pramaggiore.

“This committee will be the first step in making sure the labor movement is an integral part of moving Illinois to a clean energy economy and reinforces JB and Juliana’s commitment to putting Springfield back on the side of working families,” said IBEW Local 51 Business Manager John Johnson.



Jennifer Walling co-chairs the transition’s Powering Illinois’ Future Committee and is the executive director of the Illinois Environmental Council. IEC represents over 80 environmental organizations on policy issues. Walling has been involved with the negotiation and passage of many major environmental initiatives including the Future Energy Jobs Act, Lead in Drinking Water Prevention Act, Illinois’ ban on microbeads in personal care products, funding for the Illinois Department of Natural Resources, recreation liability protection for landowners, numerous bills on recycling and composting, and many other statewide policies.

Anne Pramaggiore co-chairs the transition’s Powering Illinois’ Future Committee and is the CEO of Exelon Utilities. In that role, she oversees and manages the six utilities that make up the portfolio of Exelon Utilities, including ComEd. Pramaggiore served as CEO of Commonwealth Edison for over six years and, during that time, oversaw the company’s smart grid modernization program as set forth under the 2011 Illinois Energy Infrastructure Modernization Act. This legislation and ComEd’s work has earned Illinois national recognition for having one of the most advanced power systems in the country (Gridwise Alliance Modernization Index) and has placed ComEd among the leaders in the industry for reliability (EEI Index). Also, she oversaw the company’s efforts under the 2016 Illinois’ Future Energy Jobs Act, which further modernizes the power system, creating a pathway for 3000 MW of solar power and some of the largest and most impactful energy efficiency programs in the country. She joined Commonwealth Edison in 1998 (from McDermott, Will and Emery) as a lawyer and worked on the company’s efforts to restructure the electric industry under Illinois’ Customer Choice Act. Pramaggiore also served as Commonwealth Edison COO and President from 2009 to 2012.

John Johnson co-chairs the transition’s Powering Illinois’ Future Committee and is the business manager of International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers Local 51. Johnson has worked in the Illinois energy field for over 42 years. He was first employed by Illinois Power at its Baldwin Power Station in downstate Randolph County. In 1994, he was appointed as a Business Representative for IBEW Local 51 later becoming the Assistant Business Manager. Johnson has represented nearly 3,500 Illinois workers primarily employed in the public utility industry in downstate Illinois. He has represented employees working for electric and gas utilities; nuclear, coal, and natural gas generating operators; rural electric cooperatives; contractors constructing electric distribution, electric transmission and renewable energy facilities; and telecommunication employers. While working for Local 51, he has participated in various legislative and regulatory efforts, most recently with the Future Energy Jobs Act. Johnson was appointed by organized labor to the Midwest Governors Greenhouse Gas Accord working group.

Steve Andersson, State Representative, Illinois General Assembly

Andrew Barbeau, President, The Accelerate Group

Dick Breckenridge, Illinois Regional Program Manager, BlueGreen Alliance

Jon Carson, CEO, Trajectory Energy Partners

Jim Connolly, Business Manager, LIUNA Chicago Laborers’ District Council

Jack Darin, Executive Director, Sierra Club Illinois Chapter

Naomi Davis, Founder, Blacks in Green

Joseph Dominguez, CEO, ComEd

Judy Frydland, Commissioner, Chicago Department of Buildings

Robyn Gabel, State Representative, Illinois General Assembly

Jacky Grimshaw, Vice President of Government Affairs, Center for Neighborhood Technology

Carol Hays, Executive Director, Prairie Rivers Network

Ronnie Huff, Union Representative, Union Mine Workers of America

Paul Kearns, Lab Director, US Department of Energy’s Argonne National Laboratory

Dave Koehler, State Senator, Illinois General Assembly

Howard Learner, President and Executive Director, Environmental Law and Policy Center

Dave Lundy, President, Aileron Communications

Dr. Elizabeth Hinchey Malloy, Environment Protection Specialist, U.S. EPA Great Lakes National Program

Richard Mark, CEO, Ameren Illinois

Iris Martinez, State Senator, General Assembly

Charles Matthews, CEO, Peoples Gas

Michael Polsky, Founder and CEO, Invenergy

Susan Satter, Public Utilities Counsel, Office of the Illinois Attorney General Lisa Madigan

Debra Shore, Commissioner, Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago

Sean Stott, Director of Governmental Affairs, Laborers’ International Union – Midwest Region

Jim Sweeney, President-Business Manager, International Union of Operating Engineers Local 150

Rick Tervin, Jr., Legislative and Political Director, Illinois Pipe Trades Association

Mary Vandevord, President and CEO, HeartLands Conservancy

Kim Wasserman-Nieto, Executive Director, Little Village Environmental Justice Organization

Ann Williams, State Representative, Illinois General Assembly

Melvin Williams, President, Nicor Gas


Ready to take action?

Sign up and we’ll be in touch with opportunities to get involved with our team.

Back to Top